Skip to main content
site.jpg

Kazakhstan

Nomads of the Steppe

Top Experiences in Kazakhstan

Top Sights in Kazakhstan

Zenkov Cathedral (Ascension Cathedral)

In the picturesque park of 28 guards - Panfilov of the city of Almaty, there is a unique architectural monument - the Zenkov Cathedral (Ascension Cathedral). This historical monument is considered one of the main attractions of the city. The initiators of the construction of the temple were the bishops of Turkestan and Tashkent at the very beginning of the 19th century. The best engineers and architects took over the project. In 1903, the project was approved and from 1904 to 1907 the construction of the cathedral continued. Zenkov supervised all the works, he was at the time the chief architect of the city of Almaty.
A distinctive feature of this timber construction is that it was erected using an ancient technology - virtually nailless.
In 1910 the town of Verny (this is what it was called at the time and was renamed to Almaty later) was struck by a natural disaster - a strong earthquake. Almost all the buildings in the area were destroyed, but the Zenkov Cathedral was not damaged. The building survived thanks to its construction technology.
But the earthquake is not the only disaster the cathedral has seen. The period of Soviet power became a real test for the temple. In 1927, the government issued a decree to close the shrine.
Until 1994, the building of the Zenkov Cathedral in Almaty was used for non-religious purposes and has long been the central museum of Kazakhstan.
In 1995, the authorities of the Republic decided to restore the building to its religious importance and, after restoration work, Orthodox services began to be held in the cathedral again. Since then and to this day, the temple has been a sanctuary for hundreds of Christians and a magnificent landmark of the city.

Recent Articles

Join us on Facebook!

And keep updated with our tour promotions, or follow us on

Aller au contenu principal
site.jpg

Kazakhstan

Les nomades des steppes

Cathédrale Zenkov (Cathédrale de l'Ascension)

Dans le parc pittoresque de 28 gardes - Panfilov de la ville d'Almaty, il y a un monument architectural unique - la cathédrale Zenkov (cathédrale de l'Ascension). Ce monument historique est considéré comme l'une des principales attractions de la ville. Les initiateurs de la construction du temple furent les évêques du Turkestan et de Tachkent au tout début du 19ème siècle. Les meilleurs ingénieurs et architectes ont repris le projet. En 1903, le projet est approuvé et de 1904 à 1907 la construction de la cathédrale se poursuit. Zenkov a supervisé tous les travaux, il était à l'époque l'architecte en chef de la ville d'Almaty.
Une caractéristique distinctive de cette construction en bois est qu'elle a été érigée à l'aide d'une technologie ancienne unique - pratiquement sans clous.
En 1910, la ville de Verny (c'est ainsi qu'elle s'appelait à l'époque et fut rebaptisée à Almaty plus tard) a éte frappée par une catastrophe naturelle - un fort tremblement de terre. Presque tous les bâtiments de la région ont été détruits, mais la cathédrale de Zenkov n'a pas été endommagée. Le bâtiment a survécu grâce à sa technologie de construction.
Mais le tremblement de terre n'est pas le seul désastre que la cathédrale ait connu. La période du pouvoir soviétique est devenue une véritable épreuve pour le temple. En 1927, le gouvernement a publié un décret pour fermer le sanctuaire.
Jusqu'en 1994, le bâtiment de la cathédrale Zenkov à Almaty a été utilisé pour des besoins non religieux et a longtemps été le musée central du Kazakhstan.
En 1995, les autorités de la République ont décidé de redonner au bâtiment son importance religieuse et, après des travaux de restauration, des offices orthodoxes ont recommencé à se tenir dans la cathédrale. Depuis lors et à ce jour, le temple a été un sanctuaire pour des centaines de chrétiens et un magnifique monument de la ville.

Articles récents

Join us on Facebook!

And keep updated with our tour promotions, or follow us on